Please Help

Discussion, questions and support.
SetCollectorIL

Please Help

#1 Post by SetCollectorIL » 23.05.2016, 14:58

So i downloaded this software hoping it will be the answer to my prayers only to find out i have no idea where to even begin.
here goes my question:

I'm a photographer and i have thousands of folders with sets of photos.
each folder's name is the subject matter in the folder.

what i need is to create a sample gallery of my work with sample images taken from each folder (one image taken from every folder) and to rename them (the images) as the name of the folder.

Example:
if i have three folders, with 2000 images in each (all of which are "img_0001, img_0002 etc)
but the folders names are all differet, say "holland", "russia" and "usa".
i would like to get three images, one from each folder and to have them named each like to folder it was taken from
and to have holland.jpg, russia.jpg and usa.jpg.

the images taken from the folders can be random if that's easier.

can this software do this automatically??

afh

Re: Please Help

#2 Post by afh » 23.05.2016, 23:43

1. Apply flat view (CTRL+B). This means that you must be in the parent folder of the pictures folder (it will take a while to show all the files if there are a lot...)

2. In Quick filter you put some filter that will retrieve only 1 file for each subfolder (for example, img_0001).

3. Select all the remaining files and rename (CTRL+M). In "File name" instead of "[n]" insert "[p]"

4. Do not close the "Multi rename" window. Go to the panel, select all the files with the new names and copy where you want.

5. Go back to "Multi rename" window and undo the changes (so that you will keep img_0001 in my example in each folder).

It would have been easier if "Multi renamer" had the option of "copy" and "move" along with "rename". Advanced renamer (https://www.advancedrenamer.com/) has this option so you better use that renamer.

Dreamer
Site Admin

#3 Post by Dreamer » 24.05.2016, 00:59