How to force uTorrent into using FreeCoommander?

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Forez
Posts: 471
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

How to force uTorrent into using FreeCoommander?

#1 Post by Forez » 05.10.2016, 21:36

I do not use the Explorer at all in Windows 7. So how do I tell uTorrent to stop opening torrent folders in Windows Explorer? I want to be able to double click a torrent from a list in uTorrent and have it opened in FreeCommnder, preferably in a whole new tab on the inactive side



The only option concerning this topic that I found in uTtorrent was the choice for double click behavior located in

Options > Preferences > UI Settings located > Actions for double click

So I guess that leaves me only with extensive work in the registry, that I will mos likely fail at? Or is there some quick / easy method to override in Windows 7 its Explorer with third party file handlers?

Timon
Posts: 710
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: How to force uTorrent into using FreeCoommander?

#2 Post by Timon » 06.10.2016, 05:11

In FreeCommander XE 2016 release 729 donor implemented: 'Settings->Shell Menu' - options for adding "Open with Freecommander" item to shell context menu
See viewtopic.php?f=6&t=775&start=165#p24318

Forez
Posts: 471
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: How to force uTorrent into using FreeCoommander?

#3 Post by Forez » 06.10.2016, 10:54

Timon wrote:In FreeCommander XE 2016 release 729 donor implemented: 'Settings->Shell Menu' - options for adding "Open with Freecommander" item to shell context menu
See viewtopic.php?f=6&t=775&start=165#p24318
Thank you for that info

Unfortunately the system's shell is a completely different thing than the righ click menu in uTorrent

Forez
Posts: 471
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: How to force uTorrent into using FreeCoommander?

#4 Post by Forez » 10.10.2016, 23:28

I've posted the same question on the forum of uTorrent, but I haven't got a single answer yet

https://forum.utorrent.com/topic/103275 ... commander/

Forez
Posts: 471
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: How to force uTorrent into using FreeCoommander?

#5 Post by Forez » 11.10.2016, 17:08

I have tried this approach: http://www.forum.freecommander.com/view ... =30#p21381

But such registry entry to my Windows 7 x64, crated only chaos: sometimes uTorrents spits error saying "application not found", sometimes folder is opened via Windows Explorer [sometimes with dozens of second of delay], sometimes a drive is opened in FreeCommander

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: wuhuilin11 and 16 guests