Page 1 of 1

Command line parameters not correctly working

Posted: 15.06.2016, 01:03
by h-h
OS: Windows 10
FreeCommander version: FreeCommander XE 2016 Build 716 32-bit public beta

Hello,

I'm running FreeCommander elevated. When I'm running the following command line from a non-elevated process (like with Win+R), a new instance of FreeCommander is created instead of using the running one:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\FreeCommander XE\FreeCommander.exe" /C /T /L="C:\"
See http://www.freecommander.com/fchelpxe/e ... eters.html for the descriptions of the switches (basically: use Current instance, new Tab, Left).

By the way: Do you say "running elevatedly?"

Re: Command line parameters not correctly working

Posted: 22.06.2016, 13:41
by horst.epp
That is no error !
Windows security prevents normal tasks to control tasks running enhanced.
Stop running FC with enhanced rights.
It is not needed for normal operations and bad security practice.

Re: Command line parameters not correctly working

Posted: 23.06.2016, 10:33
by h-h
horst.epp wrote:Windows security prevents normal tasks to control tasks running enhanced.
I imagine there has to be a way for interprocess communication between a non-elevated and an elevated process, initiated by the non-elevated process.
horst.epp wrote:Stop running FC with enhanced rights.
It is not needed for normal operations and bad security practice.
I have to repeatedly access directories such as "C:\Program Files". I can't think of another hassle-free way for often accessing these folders.


What about "running elevatedly?"