New folder should allow path with more than one directory

Suggestions and feature requests.
Post Reply
Message
Author
HansS
Posts: 29
Joined: 08.02.2014, 10:34

New folder should allow path with more than one directory

#1 Post by HansS » 15.11.2015, 14:27

"New -> Folder" from context prompts for a name, so in contrast to Windows Explorer it should be possible to allow to create more than one directory in a single operation. E.g. instead of "New -> Folder", "A", <Enter>, <Enter>, "New -> Folder", "B", <Enter>, <Enter>, "New -> Folder", "C", <Enter>, <Enter> it should be possible to enter "A\B\C" (what's possible since many years in the shell with mkdir "A\B\C").

Win7-64, FreeCommanderXE-64-donor_portable700

Timon
Posts: 644
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: New folder should allow path with more than one director

#2 Post by Timon » 15.11.2015, 15:45

It is already implemented (works for me even from context menu) in FC XE 700 32-bit version.

Creating multilevel sub folders
Example: Inserting of "fc\lng\de" creates sub folders of the folder opened in the active panel in three levels.
Creating multilevel folders in a higher level
Example: Inserting of "..\fc" creates the folder "fc" parallel to the folder opened in the active panel.

It is also possible to create several folders at the same time. Example: Inserting of "dir1|dir2" creates the two folders "dir1" and "dir2".

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: New folder should allow path with more than one director

#3 Post by joby_toss » 15.11.2015, 17:13

Yes, Timon is right. Here is the help file section detailing this: http://www.freecommander.com/fchelpxe/en/New.html

HansS
Posts: 29
Joined: 08.02.2014, 10:34

Re: New folder should allow path with more than one director

#4 Post by HansS » 15.11.2015, 17:43

But it does not work here from context menu "New -> Folder" in file panel (in List mode): A\B\C gives error message (both with and without ""):

Code: Select all

---------------------------
FreeCommander
---------------------------
The name is not valid. Not Allowed Characters: 
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------
(and "About" really shows Build 700)

I just recognized that it works from menu "Folder -> New" - but I use context menu, which should be the same functionality. Beside the missing functionality the error message itself is not OK, because the not allowed character is missing.

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: New folder should allow path with more than one director

#5 Post by joby_toss » 15.11.2015, 17:49

Hmm, you're right. It's a bug.

Timon
Posts: 644
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: New folder should allow path with more than one director

#6 Post by Timon » 16.11.2015, 06:08

But it does not work here from context menu "New -> Folder" in file panel (in List mode): A\B\C gives error message (both with and without "")
It is very strange, that it works fine with F7 (New Folder), but fails from context menu, despite the fact, that the same dialog is used...

HansS
Posts: 29
Joined: 08.02.2014, 10:34

Re: New folder should allow path with more than one director

#7 Post by HansS » 14.07.2016, 13:19

I just tested this with FreeCommander XE 2016 Build 724 64-bit-donor (in Win7-64 pro SP1) and the error is still not fixed :cry:.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests