Seperate window for moving large items...

Suggestions and feature requests.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Faithbuilders
Posts: 3
Joined: 08.11.2017, 17:44

Seperate window for moving large items...

#1 Post by Faithbuilders » 08.11.2017, 17:56

One thing that windows explorer does that is better than FC is when you move or copy files it opens its move/copy dialog just like FC the difference is when you are moving/copying a large file you can't use FC until it is done. In Windows Explorer the move/copy dialog is separate and there for I can close down Windows explorer without shitting down my move/copy dialog screen first. The when it is done with its move/copy the dialog screen automatically shuts down. So is my move/copy of a large file will take 20 min I don't need to worry about it, I can walk away and when it is done it will close the dialog window.

So for large move/copy of files I still use windows explorer, for everything else I use FC.

It would be nice it you could make FC move/copy dialog box react it the same way as Windows explorer. Thank you!

If there is a setting to do this that I don't know, please let my know. Thank you.

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 661
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: Seperate window for moving large items...

#2 Post by ralfso » 08.11.2017, 18:56

You can use freecommander as copyhandler.
Go to settings >>> File/folder operations - Tab General and switch to "Use FreeCommander"
If this setting is checked, the copy/move is performed via a FreeCommander dialog.
This also causes to use a separate copy-process.
You can use freecommander while the files are copied in backround.

http://www.freecommander.com/fchelpxe/e ... ander.html
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

Faithbuilders
Posts: 3
Joined: 08.11.2017, 17:44

Re: Seperate window for moving large items...

#3 Post by Faithbuilders » 08.11.2017, 19:52

Thank you for your response, still renders FC un-usable while it is copying file


Faithbuilders
Posts: 3
Joined: 08.11.2017, 17:44

Re: Seperate window for moving large items...

#5 Post by Faithbuilders » 09.11.2017, 14:43

Thank you, right now I found out how to use "teracopy" And that seems to work for now.

Forez
Posts: 148
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05

Re: Seperate window for moving large items...

#6 Post by Forez » 22.11.2017, 17:18

I followed that link and ended up at http://www.freecommander.com/fchelpxe/e ... ueue1.html

Unfortunately I am not able to get rid of the Windows Explorer copy / move manager

Faithbuilders wrote:
09.11.2017, 14:43
Thank you, right now I found out how to use "teracopy" And that seems to work for now.
Within FreeCommander, evoking it with CTRL+X or CTRL+C and CTRL+V?

How?


My FC has now the control for deletion process; because under the

Settings > File/folder operations > General > Delete

I have the "Use FreeCommander" selected. But I also have that "Use FreeCommander" selected for "Copy" and Move"- and yet FC does not have control over it. And also changing to "Use external program" [TeraCopy 2.27] does not take control from that Windows Explorer copy / move thing

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3113
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Seperate window for moving large items...

#7 Post by Dreamer » 22.11.2017, 20:53

You can't use Ctrl+X/C/V for FC operations, you can use F5/F6, or splitter copy/move buttons.

Forez
Posts: 148
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05

Re: Seperate window for moving large items...

#8 Post by Forez » 29.11.2017, 13:53

Faithbuilders wrote:
09.11.2017, 14:43
[...]

right now I found out how to use "teracopy" And that seems to work for now.
Unfortunate, for me, this does not work in my workflow

I very often just select a file or folder, press CTRL + C and then right away CTRL + V to create a quick copy in the same location. And after few days I just delete everything that has "copy" in the name; or move it to another drive for some further temporary archives purposes. This is a work and time saver for example when I work in CorelDRAW, which is unstable and has lame auto backup option. Or when I want to as quickly as possibly secure a folder before multi renaming its content

And what TC does is instead of adding "copy" to the name of the copy, it adds numbers. And that also further obscures my view, because my projects have numbers at the end of them. So I am not able to later on find out these quick temporary copies, other than manually looking for them in folders and deciding what is what; and that takes way too much time and generates possibly fatal errors

Dreamer wrote:
22.11.2017, 20:53
You can't use Ctrl+X/C/V for FC operations
[...]
And so the request is validated?

Although I do not understand, what such options like this are suppose to do: http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=489 ... 8754524807 ? I have no difference if I switch back to "Use Windows" for copy or move. Only the delete option is affected [right now FC manages it instead of Windows]. Is that a bug, inactive option or what?

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3113
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Seperate window for moving large items...

#9 Post by Dreamer » 29.11.2017, 19:35

Forez wrote:
29.11.2017, 13:53
Dreamer wrote:
22.11.2017, 20:53
You can't use Ctrl+X/C/V for FC operations
[...]
And so the request is validated?
If you want the same behavior for Ctrl+X/C/V as F5/F6, perhaps it's better to start a new topic.
Forez wrote:
29.11.2017, 13:53
Although I do not understand, what such options like this are suppose to do: http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=489 ... 8754524807 ? I have no difference if I switch back to "Use Windows" for copy or move. Only the delete option is affected [right now FC manages it instead of Windows]. Is that a bug, inactive option or what?
As I said, it's for these options:
Dreamer wrote:
22.11.2017, 20:53
F5/F6, or splitter copy/move buttons.
Using the options "Use FreeCommander" you can use also the Queue feature.

Forez
Posts: 148
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05

Re: Seperate window for moving large items...

#10 Post by Forez » 06.12.2017, 20:35

I have just made a request concerning these issues: http://forum.freecommander.com/viewtopi ... =20&t=8342

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests