Copy/Move/Delete operation improvements

Suggestions and feature requests.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3409
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Copy/Move/Delete operation improvements

#1 Post by Dreamer » 14.07.2019, 13:25

When copying/moving/deleting items, the Confirm overwrite dialog may be shown anytime while the operation, so if there are many files there, it's disturbing and if the user is away from keyboard, the operation is aborted. I think everyone know this situation, it's quite annoying.

There are many reasons why the operation can by aborted, item already exist, item is in use, not enough space...

There are few possible solutions, so perhaps one of them could be implemented to FC, just one is needed, not all:
  1. Check the items before the operation is started, this may be slow with many items and I'm not sure if it's possible to check if the item is in use. Anyway, perhaps use this option with more than 1 and less than 10 files?
  2. Option to auto-minimize any Confirm dialog(s) and skip these items, after the other items are processed, restore/show these dialogs and perhaps show the list with the items which were not processed.
  3. Auto-skip any items which can't be processed and re-add them to the next queue. Some command to disable auto-skip between the standard operation and the next queue operation is needed, otherwise the items would be re-added endlessly.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests