Saved file changes etc not shown real time in FreeCommander!

Bugs and issues.
Locked
Message
Author
Rosi
Posts: 10
Joined: 23.11.2007, 19:17

Saved file changes etc not shown real time in FreeCommander!

#1 Post by Rosi » 20.12.2007, 21:14

1. Open a Working folder with Freecommander, open a file (Word, Excel etc), Save As a different name. You will not see the newly save file on the Working folder!! You have to click on other folders or upper folder, click on the Working folder again to see the file you have just saved.

2. Save any web page to the above Working Folder, again, you will not see the file you have just saved!! You have to do the same thing as the above mentioned to see it.

Karol
Posts: 701
Joined: 19.08.2007, 10:05

#2 Post by Karol » 20.12.2007, 22:39


Rosi
Posts: 10
Joined: 23.11.2007, 19:17

#3 Post by Rosi » 20.12.2007, 23:11

Not work fella!

Alex
Posts: 91
Joined: 03.10.2007, 18:39
Location: Russia
Contact:

#4 Post by Alex » 21.12.2007, 02:25


Rosi
Posts: 10
Joined: 23.11.2007, 19:17

#5 Post by Rosi » 21.12.2007, 16:42

Just don't understand why recent version has this problem while older versions don't?

Does ATFileNotification work with FreeCommander?

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2553
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

#6 Post by Marek » 21.12.2007, 21:39

I have tested really many PCs for autorefresh problem (Win200, Xp, Vista).
If on one PC, the default setting worked not properly, till present it has always the line DirMonSensitive=2 helped. For correct definition this option:

- close FreeCommander
- open the freecommander.ini file
- add the line DirMonSensitive=2 in the [Form] section
- save the file
- start FreeCommander


The only problem with autorefresh I know is with Novell drives.

Alex: do you know, if your component works with Novell drives?

Rosi
Posts: 10
Joined: 23.11.2007, 19:17

Simply say: NOT work.

#7 Post by Rosi » 03.01.2008, 23:33

Simply say: NOT work.

See it is there ( added by clicking on the underline sign in writing this message):

**********
[Form]
List1=vsList
List2=vsList
Dir1=C:\
Dir2=C:\
Pos=98, 112, 506, 965, 0
SplitPos=459, 0
DirMonSensitive=2
SplitTreeRightPos=59, 50
SplitTreeLeftPos=53, 21

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 707
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

#8 Post by ralfso » 04.01.2008, 09:59

Look at your ini-File, there ist written "DirMonSensitive=2" not "DirMonSensitive=2".
The command in ini-Files can only be interpreted if they are standing alone in a line.
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 500 GB SSD, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

Rosi
Posts: 10
Joined: 23.11.2007, 19:17

GO BACK TO 2006B!!

#9 Post by Rosi » 04.01.2008, 21:09

It is "DirMonSensitive=2". As I said, the extra of "DirMonSensitive=2" came from the action of "Underlined".

It simply does not work. No matter it is in the single CPU or duo-core with Win XP 2SP.

In the 2006b version, there is "DirMonEnable4Drive=3624", but it works just fine! AND WHAT A RELIEVE THAT I AM BACK TO 2006B!!

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests