Page 1 of 1

Thumbnails

Posted: 07.01.2013, 22:41
by doug
I am using ver 2009.02b on two machines. On one machine, I am able to view thumbnails of Inventor files (.idw,.ipt,.iam). On my other machine, I cannot view these thumbnails. I can view graphic files and pdf files, but not the desired Inventor files. Any suggestion as to where to look to find differences.

Re: Thumbnails

Posted: 07.01.2013, 23:27
by Dreamer
Check the plugins folder, you can copy the whole FC folder from the working PC to the other, to a new folder.

Re: Thumbnails

Posted: 08.01.2013, 00:16
by doug
Thanks, but I don't have a plugin folder. Do you mean to copy the entire FC program folder?

Re: Thumbnails

Posted: 08.01.2013, 20:47
by Marek
On one machine, I am able to view thumbnails of Inventor files (.idw,.ipt,.iam). On my other machine, I cannot view these thumbnails.
Have you installed Inventor on both PCs? Can you see thumbnails of Inventor on the second machine under Windows Explorer?

Re: Thumbnails

Posted: 08.01.2013, 21:18
by doug
Yes, Inventor is on both machines. I can see the thumbnails in MS Explorer on both machines, even the on that FC does not see.

Re: Thumbnails

Posted: 09.01.2013, 23:39
by Dreamer
doug wrote:Do you mean to copy the entire FC program folder?
Yes, if you don't have the freecommander.ini file in the FC program folder, then search for this file and copy the file to the other PC, FC folder too. Of course, backup the original folders, or use another folder, do not rewrite any files.

Do you have the same Windows version on both PCs? Where is the FC install folder - try to use another path, not the Program Files folder, or another drive, if possible D:, then you can try to run FC as administrator (via right click menu).

Re: Thumbnails

Posted: 26.01.2013, 14:51
by doug
Sorry for the long delay in getting back to my issue. I have copied the FC directory from the working machine to my new computer that does not view the thumbnails. The machine that FC is viewing these thumbnails properly is a Vista machine, 32bit OS. Any other thoughts on how to get FC to view on Win7, 64bit OS?