missing: switch shortcuts

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
14u24me
Posts: 36
Joined: 15.05.2008, 20:30
Location: Germany

missing: switch shortcuts

#1 Post by 14u24me » 26.12.2010, 17:59

I am missing the feature to switch shortcuts between COPY und MOVE with and without dialog box. (in FC 2009.02b Build 418 donor: "Settings" -> "Confirmations")

Using "Define Shortcuts", when I change a shortcut which is still in use, I miss a feature "switch shortcuts" in the window "This new shortcut ist already assigned to anoter command ... instead of deleting the old shortcut.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4055
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: missing: switch shortcuts

#2 Post by Dreamer » 27.12.2010, 21:49

It works good here, I set F5/F6 to copy/move without dialog and Shift+F5/F6 with dialog.

14u24me
Posts: 36
Joined: 15.05.2008, 20:30
Location: Germany

Re: missing: switch shortcuts

#3 Post by 14u24me » 27.12.2010, 22:13

May be it is not too difficult, but the old way was much easier.
And I like every easier way.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4055
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: missing: switch shortcuts

#4 Post by Dreamer » 28.12.2010, 21:12

I disagree, easier for me is more intuitive, if I want to change the shortcuts, I open the keyboard shortcuts dialog, find the shortcuts I want to change and I just do it.

Keyboard shortcuts placed elsewhere are not intuitive, especially for beginners, they have no reason to search elsewhere.

Just imagine that more keyboard shortcuts would be placed everywhere in the settings window, it would be very confusing.

14u24me
Posts: 36
Joined: 15.05.2008, 20:30
Location: Germany

Re: missing: switch shortcuts

#5 Post by 14u24me » 28.12.2010, 21:50

I will try to explain my suggestion.
Look at the modified screenshot, please:

Image

I liked the method in old FC, but I would prefer a buttom to swap the shortcuts between the commands instead of delete the shortcut of the other command.

14u

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4055
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: missing: switch shortcuts

#6 Post by Dreamer » 29.12.2010, 23:20

I am sorry, now I understand what do you mean. I agree and then perhaps the message might be displayed with the information about both shortcuts - options and shortcuts, because I don't like if the shortcut which is not displayed is changed, if confusing sometimes.

Regarding the new "swap" button, perhaps it's not needed there, what about place it in confirmation dialog - "Do you want to overwrite or swap the shortcut?" With the buttons: overwrite, swap, cancel.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests