New version of the FcContextMenu64.exe

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Message
Author
Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: New version of the FcContextMenu64.exe

#31 Post by Scott_Y » 31.08.2012, 14:00

pfennig wrote:it tries to "call home" on every right-click.
Denying it throws an error message.
I have never experienced this problem myself (Win7-64), but there has been a similar report here viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4300.

If that doesn't help, please give some details of your situation:
- What step or message are you "denying" that generates an error message?
- Then what does the error message say?
- What OS and version of FC are you using? Thanks.

pfennig
Posts: 4
Joined: 11.05.2008, 06:23

Re: New version of the FcContextMenu64.exe

#32 Post by pfennig » 31.08.2012, 17:09

I'm using the free ZoneAlarm Firewall and the portable versions of
FreeCommander (XE). The version of FcContextMenu64 is 1.0.0.5.
My OS is Win7 64bit.

After a right-click on a file or folder in FreeCommander (XE) the ZoneAlarm Security Alert pops up
saying that "FreeCommander - FcContextMenu64 is trying to access the Internet."
The destination IP is 127.0.0.1:Port 50631. Looks local to me.
My hosts file is in its original state - with 127.0.0.1 localhost commented out.

I deny the access and get the message (in German):
"FreeCommander - FcContextMenu64 doesn't work anymore

with two options:
- to search online for a solution and close the program
- to close the program

The name of the problem event is CLR20r3.

P.S.: I don't know if it could matter, but an entry in the context menu is for TortoiseGit,
which itself might be a reason for this behavior. Although, it doesn't ask for access itself
as long as I don't click it.
Best regards
pfennig

inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 31.08.2011, 22:10

Re: New version of the FcContextMenu64.exe

#33 Post by inglorious » 31.08.2012, 18:52

get latest version 1.1.0.3 and try again
Win7x64

pfennig
Posts: 4
Joined: 11.05.2008, 06:23

Re: New version of the FcContextMenu64.exe

#34 Post by pfennig » 01.09.2012, 09:36

I replaced the old version and so far I didn't get any
ZoneAlarm alerts anymore. Thank you.
Best regards
pfennig

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], wynford and 16 guests