Page 1 of 1

FreeCommander with FastCopy

Posted: 02.08.2014, 19:06
by BGM
Say, just in case anyone needs this, if you want to use FastCopy as your external file operations application, here is some info for you.

First, here are the docs, complete with the commandline information.

Copy
C:\Program Files\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe /auto_close /cmd=force_copy %ActivSel% /to="%InactivDir%\"

Move
C:\Program Files\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe /auto_close /cmd=move %ActivSel% /to="%InactivDir%\"

Delete
C:\Program Files\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe /auto_close /no_confirm_del /cmd=delete "%ActivSel%"

I have tested all three functions and it seems to work fine. Make sure to include the trailing backslash after %InactivDir% or you can't copy directories.

[updated]
If you put quotes around %ActiveSel% the command won't recognize spaces in the filename and will cut it off at the first space character.

Re: FreeCommander with FastCopy

Posted: 03.08.2014, 16:45
by bertradio
I tried this and if there is a space in the file or folder name it does not work. The name ends up in FastCopy with a semicolon inserted before the space. Anyone know if this is a FreeCommander problem or a FastCopy problem?

Re: FreeCommander with FastCopy

Posted: 03.08.2014, 17:13
by BGM
Hmmm... I confess, I've been having troubles getting FastCopy to copy to a network admin share, too. It seems not to be able to locate the source directory. Maybe that is because of spaces, too? I played with it for about an hour and then gave up. You would think that putting double-quotes around the path variables would have solved the problem.

The thing about FastCopy is it's totally free - no pay-to-upgrade stuff.

Re: FreeCommander with FastCopy

Posted: 03.08.2014, 18:36
by bertradio
When it fails, look in FastCopy at the path. You will probably see that it has semicolons. That's the problem I ran into. Does it work for you on local paths that have spaces?

Re: FreeCommander with FastCopy

Posted: 29.01.2015, 21:55
by CodeWzrd
Using FCXE build 650 and FastCopy 2.11, I kept running into issues when copying/moving multiple files. The files would not be copied/moved. Plus when errors occurred, the FastCopy window would become unresponsive and there was no way to close it without going into Task Manager to kill it.

Turns out that the double quotes around %ActiveSel% was causing the selected files to be treated as one file name.
Ex: "c:\temp\a.txt c:\temp\b.txt"

The solution is to remove the double quotes around %ActiveSel%.

Copy
C:\Program Files\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe /auto_close /cmd=force_copy %ActivSel% /to="%InactivDir%\"

Move
C:\Program Files\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe /auto_close /cmd=move %ActivSel% /to="%InactivDir%\"

I'm not sure how it handles spaces in filenames and folder names but it does.

Double quotes around %InactiveDir% is required for when copying/moving files to a folder with space in the name (i.e. C:\Temp 2).

Re: FreeCommander with FastCopy

Posted: 30.01.2015, 02:33
by BGM
And Delete:
C:\Program Files\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe /auto_close /no_confirm_del /cmd=delete %ActivSel%

I just tested this and it does seem to work.

You can use FC to get the functions without any confirmation!
I like that.

Thanks, CodeWizard.

Re: FreeCommander with FastCopy

Posted: 08.03.2016, 22:13
by ektorbarajas
Hi.

I'm facing a strange situation.

If I delete,copy or move from the right pane to the left one, it works ok

But when I attempt to do it from the left pane to the right one, it never works.

I've tested with the same set of files, it always works right to left but not likewise

Any idea? :roll:

Freecommander version: build 715 32 bits
FastCopy version: 3.12 64 bit

Re: FreeCommander with FastCopy

Posted: 09.07.2021, 03:16
by BGM
I update my initial post with a new link to the FastCopy docs and fixed the quotes issue for all the folks who browse to this thread.

Re: FreeCommander with FastCopy

Posted: 12.07.2021, 19:01
by BGM
ektorbarajas wrote: 08.03.2016, 22:13 Hi.

I'm facing a strange situation.

If I delete,copy or move from the right pane to the left one, it works ok

But when I attempt to do it from the left pane to the right one, it never works.

I've tested with the same set of files, it always works right to left but not likewise

Any idea? :roll:
Actually, I find this to be the case, too. When I copy from left to right, I get Fastcopy's dialogue box saying "Too few/many argument", but things work just fine from right to left.
(running build 849 on Windows 10-1909 x64)