FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Message
Author
bblackmoor
Posts: 17
Joined: 07.08.2015, 23:32

FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#1 Post by bblackmoor » 19.12.2016, 22:47

I generally am enjoying FreeCommander (thank you). However, when dealing with directories with many files (2,000 files, for example), it is SO SLOW. I click, and FreeCommander freezes for several seconds. I click, and FreeCommander freezes for several seconds. Q-Dir does not have this issue.

Is it possible that FreeCommander is somehow scanning files in some way before it displays the list? I don't know why it would, but that's the only explanation I have thought of.

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#2 Post by joby_toss » 20.12.2016, 07:34

Check to see if Quick viewer is not active and minimized by mistake or if you have Calculate the space occupied by folders option enabled.

Karol
Posts: 699
Joined: 19.08.2007, 10:05

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#3 Post by Karol » 20.12.2016, 08:37

Folder with 10000 files (local drive, list or details) less as 1 sec.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3511
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#4 Post by Dreamer » 20.12.2016, 22:16

I don't have this problem either. It freezes when you enter the folder? Which view mode are you using - list, details, thumbnails? Are you using any custom columns?

• Try to reproduce a bug with default settings and without plugins. To do this use these command line parameters (your old setting files will be preserved):

/N /NewIni=FreeCommanderTest.ini /NoPlugins /Lng=English

bblackmoor
Posts: 17
Joined: 07.08.2015, 23:32

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#5 Post by bblackmoor » 20.12.2016, 23:12

Details view, no plugins, no custom columns (size, date, type).

From reading elsewhere, it sounds like it may be related to network drives.

bblackmoor
Posts: 17
Joined: 07.08.2015, 23:32

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#6 Post by bblackmoor » 21.12.2016, 22:06

joby_toss wrote:Check to see if Quick viewer is not active and minimized by mistake or if you have Calculate the space occupied by folders option enabled.
Quick Viewer (CTRL-Q) is not active (it shows up when I click "View >> Quick view panel".

I can't find a setting for "Calculate the space occupied by folders".

bblackmoor
Posts: 17
Joined: 07.08.2015, 23:32

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#7 Post by bblackmoor » 21.12.2016, 22:08

I may have found what you are referring to: the "Folder >> Size of folders" menu item, yes? That is not enabled (when I click it, the folders display a number in the Size column).

So it's not that.

Any other suggestions?

bblackmoor
Posts: 17
Joined: 07.08.2015, 23:32

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#8 Post by bblackmoor » 21.12.2016, 22:10

Dreamer wrote:I don't have this problem either. It freezes when you enter the folder? Which view mode are you using - list, details, thumbnails?
It freezes long enough for Windows to put "(not responding)" in the program's title bar (briefly).

Details view (Size, Date, Type).

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#9 Post by joby_toss » 22.12.2016, 05:51

So, is it on a network share, or a local folder? I'm still not sure.
Try with a fresh XE portable, using default settings.
Try to close any tab that has a network folder opened (just for testing).
Try to disable the Tree if it's active.
Try changing the options in Tools->Settings->Network.
Try changing the options in Tools->Settings->View->File/folder list->Icons to something else than Extracted.
Try to disable your Antivirus solution (just for testing).

bblackmoor
Posts: 17
Joined: 07.08.2015, 23:32

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#10 Post by bblackmoor » 22.12.2016, 13:32

joby_toss wrote:So, is it on a network share, or a local folder? I'm still not sure.
Try with a fresh XE portable, using default settings.
Try to close any tab that has a network folder opened (just for testing).
Try to disable the Tree if it's active.
Try changing the options in Tools->Settings->Network.
Try changing the options in Tools->Settings->View->File/folder list->Icons to something else than Extracted.
Try to disable your Antivirus solution (just for testing).
The file list with 2000 files in it is on a local drive, but I also have a couple of tabs open with network drives. And a tree for both panes. That's how I work, and how I wish to continue to work.

I'll use some of these suggestions to troubleshoot, though. Thank you.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3511
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#11 Post by Dreamer » 22.12.2016, 19:15

Of course, you can use the FreeCommander as you wish, but if we could find the option causing the problem, it will be easier to solve it or fix it. So, if possible, please try to use default settings - and then activate some options, like tree, network tabs...

BTW I have a similar problem, another similar issue is the delay after clicking the Favorite tools button, but I have many categories and items, perhaps it is related with your issue.

bblackmoor
Posts: 17
Joined: 07.08.2015, 23:32

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#12 Post by bblackmoor » 22.12.2016, 19:50

I understand. I will experiment, and tell you if I find anything.

Thank you.

TT
Posts: 13
Joined: 23.05.2008, 18:17

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#13 Post by TT » 12.04.2017, 17:22

I got a dramatic speed-up by doing the following...

Tools - Settings - View - Folder/File list - Icons .. makes sure all System Icons are set as 'Registered'

Followed by...

Tools - Save Settings

bblackmoor
Posts: 17
Joined: 07.08.2015, 23:32

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#14 Post by bblackmoor » 18.04.2017, 18:48

I am currently using 744 64-bit. I have made all of the configuration changes that people have suggested (unselecting "drive hints", changing icons to all be "registered", and so on). FreeCommander still freezes with "not responding" more often than not.

For example, just clicking the word "Tools" in the menu bar results in a spinning mouse cursor and "not responding" for five or ten seconds -- not always, but often enough to be a nuisance.

It seems to me that what I want is simple, but I am having a heck of a time finding it. The functionality I want seems simple to me: two panes, with tabs on each pane, and a directory tree on each pane. As far as I can tell, only Q-Dir, FreeCommander, and Directory Opus offer this functionality. Q-Dir would be fine, but it crashes a lot. FreeCommander would be fine, but it freezes a lot. And Directory Opus is $80 per machine, which is insane (I have four).

I like FreeCOmmander, and I am glad that I supported it in a small way. But I am not sure what else I can do to troubleshoot this issue and still keep the program usable (hiding the trees for example, would be pointless, since having a tree for each pane is one of the reasons I am using FC instead of something else).

Any other suggestions?

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3511
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: FreeCommander is so slow (730 64 bit)

#15 Post by Dreamer » 18.04.2017, 21:11

Please wait for the next version, it works much better/faster in the new test version / not released yet.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 86 guests