[fixed] 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
alf5000
Posts: 487
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

[fixed] 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#1 Post by alf5000 » 28.07.2020, 18:34

I can UNPACK with the plugin --> no problem

I cannot PACK with the plugin --> FCXE_825 crashes

can anybody confirm?
Last edited by alf5000 on 31.07.2020, 15:00, edited 1 time in total.
(win7pro x64) - (FCXE x64) - (15"screen) - (resolution: 2880-1620) - (DPI scaling: 200%)

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2829
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#2 Post by Marek » 28.07.2020, 19:17

No problem here.

User avatar
H.Seldon
Posts: 73
Joined: 06.03.2008, 02:51

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#3 Post by H.Seldon » 28.07.2020, 19:18

Confirmed.

Edit:
I used newly extracted FC 825 portable 64-bit (reloaded).
I used wcx_Total7zip_0856 and updated 7-zip files to version 19.00, which is the 7-zip version I have installed.
I selected a text file in FC, selected File/Pack from FC to current folder.
FC crashes.
It is the same for 7z or zip file extensions. It works fine with internal zip.

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2829
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#4 Post by Marek » 28.07.2020, 21:15

I use the: Version 18.6.0.0 (based on 7-Zip 18.06 release version).
Works fine.

User avatar
H.Seldon
Posts: 73
Joined: 06.03.2008, 02:51

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#5 Post by H.Seldon » 28.07.2020, 21:28

O.K. Thanks. I'll try it.

User avatar
H.Seldon
Posts: 73
Joined: 06.03.2008, 02:51

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#6 Post by H.Seldon » 28.07.2020, 21:53

Well, I don't know what my problem could be. I tried 18.6 and get the same behavior, crash. I removed all settings, so I would be starting fresh. Then I addeed the plugin. I tried it and it crashed the same as before. I will have to look into it further as I have time. Thanks.

User avatar
H.Seldon
Posts: 73
Joined: 06.03.2008, 02:51

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#7 Post by H.Seldon » 28.07.2020, 23:14

Eureka! I have found it!
I vaguely remembered a problem with the plugin many yeares ago.
In the Total7zip.xml file, there is a parameter alwaysWait7zip="0".
I had to change it to alwaysWait7zip="1".
You can find the posting here: [url]viewtopic.php?t=2962#p8691[/url]
Perhaps we are using different versions of the plugin?
Mine is 0.8.5.6
In any case it works perfectly now.

User avatar
alf5000
Posts: 487
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#8 Post by alf5000 » 29.07.2020, 09:00

:|
on a mint portable version of FCXE with just adding the Total7zip-plugin everything works fine
BUT
on my customized freecommander the plugin causes a crash of FCXE
(win7pro x64) - (FCXE x64) - (15"screen) - (resolution: 2880-1620) - (DPI scaling: 200%)

User avatar
H.Seldon
Posts: 73
Joined: 06.03.2008, 02:51

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#9 Post by H.Seldon » 29.07.2020, 16:48

After setting alwaysWait7zip="1", I get no crash when FC started from User Account.
However, if I run FC as Administrator, and try to pack file, FC crashes whether
alwaysWait7zip is "1" or "0".

User avatar
alf5000
Posts: 487
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#10 Post by alf5000 » 30.07.2020, 07:46

ok, got it right now - but it's a strange issue.

I usually start FCXE using a keyboard shortcut by Autohotkey script - that's a problem for FCXE.

details:
- an autohotkey script is running in the background and Win+Alt+E will launch FCXE
- if I start FCXE via Autohotkey it can't pack files with Total7zip
- if I start FCXE with a double click on my desktop shortcut everything works fine
- if I start FCXE with a .bat-file that is called by Autohotkey everything is fine
:?:
(win7pro x64) - (FCXE x64) - (15"screen) - (resolution: 2880-1620) - (DPI scaling: 200%)

User avatar
H.Seldon
Posts: 73
Joined: 06.03.2008, 02:51

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#11 Post by H.Seldon » 30.07.2020, 19:21

I think I've discovered what's happening with AutoHotKey script.
I have not used AutoHotKey in years, but I downloaded and installed portable version.
I created a simple script to run FCXE, started it via keyboard shortcut, and, indeed, it did crash after attempting to pack a file.
I then noticed a 'Total7zip.xml' file had been created in the same folder as the AHK script.
The file was apparently created by the plugin and has alwaysWait7zip="0".
I deleted the XML file from the AHK scrpt folder.
I added the FCXE startup path to the script with no change in behavior (still crashed).
The only way I could make it work was to copy my Total7zip.xml file from FCXE folder to folder of AHK script.
Then it works as expected.

Edit: Obviously, it also works if the script is run from FCXE folder where Total7zip.xml resides.

Edit: I also solved my problem starting FCXE as Administrator.
I was starting FCXE from a shortcut without specifying startup folder.
Consequently, the plugin was creating Total7zip.xml in System32 folder with default alwaysWait7zip="0".

User avatar
alf5000
Posts: 487
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#12 Post by alf5000 » 30.07.2020, 21:39

@H.Seldon
well done, sir.
this kind of makes it clear to me.
thanks.

so i suppose i can mark the topic as 'fixed', more or less.
(win7pro x64) - (FCXE x64) - (15"screen) - (resolution: 2880-1620) - (DPI scaling: 200%)

User avatar
H.Seldon
Posts: 73
Joined: 06.03.2008, 02:51

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#13 Post by H.Seldon » 30.07.2020, 21:45

I supposes so. Although, I'm not sure whether the problem lies with FCXE or the plugin. I suspect tjhe plugin.
And thanks for reintroducing me to Auto HotKey. I may start using it again.

User avatar
H.Seldon
Posts: 73
Joined: 06.03.2008, 02:51

Re: 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#14 Post by H.Seldon » 30.07.2020, 22:14

Oops! I stated above that adding the startup path to the script did not change the behavior.
That's not correct. I had put double-quotes around the Working Directory path.
The help file says not to use quotes for that parameter, even if it contains spaces.

So, all you need to do is add the working directory for FCXE to your script, for example:

Run, "C:\Path To FreeCommander XE\FreeCommander.exe", C:\Path To FreeCommander XE

So, maybe there's no fault to assign to anyone.

LadySaga
Posts: 7
Joined: 11.09.2020, 19:22

Re: [fixed] 825 - Total7zip plugin broken

#15 Post by LadySaga » 11.09.2020, 20:16

Wait, you people actually get it working? Or can at least do half of the stuff?

All I can do is -open- the archive.

I can't open the context menu with right clicking it.
I can't right click files inside the archives.
I can't drag/drop files into, or out from the archive.
It's pretty much a "open and preview only" tool for me. x)

I'm guessing I have a weird version thou, I had a real hard time finding the plugin in the first place, with everything seeming to point to the same russian site.
From the readme rtf: "Version 19.0.0.0 (based on 7-Zip 19.00 release version)"

So what version are you people using? (well, for donor 828 64-bit now thou and not 825).
I had the same issue on 810 32-bit before aswell thou (became donor today).
Oh, and... how did you install it, and what settings did you use in Settings --> WCX Archiver Plugins?
(I don't use any of those fancy autohotkeys and scripts and stuff, just the regular program, with that plugin)

(Should prob mention that the regular fcZip and fcRar works as intended thou, it's just the Total7zip that doesn't like me :P)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests