Column profiles simply do not work anymore for me (build 832)

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
kino
Posts: 77
Joined: 01.04.2013, 23:24

Column profiles simply do not work anymore for me (build 832)

#1 Post by kino » 21.11.2020, 18:33

Hello,
I'm experiencing a weird thing : just applying the fc_default_view (to reset to default columns) doesn't work anymore when I've simply added manually an extra column (say "Folders")
The added column simply remains.
The rest of column profiles et auto-select views obviously do not work better.
Just to make sure, I suppressed the [FcDetailedViews*] sections from FreeCommander.ini and deleted FreeCommander.views.ini file.
They rebuild OK on the next run but the behavior remains (if I add an extra column, choosing fc_default_view won't bring me the default columns set)
Am I the only one to experience that ?
(I'm using FreeCommander XE 2020 Build 832 64-bit donor upon Windows 10.0.18363)
Thanks
K.

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2953
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Column profiles simply do not work anymore for me (build 832)

#2 Post by Marek » 22.11.2020, 20:16

It is not clear for me what does not work?
If possible, send me your settings and describe more exactly your problem.

kino
Posts: 77
Joined: 01.04.2013, 23:24

Re: Column profiles simply do not work anymore for me (build 832)

#3 Post by kino » 23.11.2020, 20:41

Hello Marek,

Thanks for your time.

My explanation remains the same.

I just reset all custom views to get back to initial default FC configuration.

Then I add DOS-Name column (one I never use) :
adding_new_column_manually_in_panel.png
DOS-Name_manually_added_column.png
DOS-Name_manually_added_column.png (19.97 KiB) Viewed 253 times

From then on, select View > Column_profiles > fc_default_view won't change anything (although that column does not belong to my default as you will see in my config files)

selecting_fc_default_view_wont_change_anything.png

I expect DOS-Name column (among others) to be replaced by fc_default_view columns right ?

Besides, I wonder what are all those

Code: Select all

[FcDetailedViews_{<UUID>}] 
sections in my .ini file (?) could they interfer ?

Thanks

K.

kino
Posts: 77
Joined: 01.04.2013, 23:24

Re: Column profiles simply do not work anymore for me (build 832)

#4 Post by kino » 23.11.2020, 20:42

+ .ini files
Attachments
FreeCommander.views.ini
(377 Bytes) Downloaded 9 times
FreeCommander.ini
(52.23 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
FreeCommander.fc_default_view_excerpt.ini
(1.94 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2953
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Column profiles simply do not work anymore for me (build 832)

#5 Post by Marek » 23.11.2020, 21:49

If you add some new column - the column is added to the active profile.
In your example it is "fc_default_view" profile.
If you now click on "View > Column_profiles > fc_default_view" no change is to see because you have selected exactly the same profile as currently loaded ( you have changed fc_default_view).
If you want to remove some columns from fc_default_view (e.g. DOS-Name) you can make it with Shift+F1 and "Add/remove columns".

kino
Posts: 77
Joined: 01.04.2013, 23:24

Re: Column profiles simply do not work anymore for me (build 832)

#6 Post by kino » 25.11.2020, 10:06

Hello Marek,
I did not know about altering the active profile indeed so I may have been misreasoning.
I still encounter problems using auto profiles and views (<sub>, <mask>, <plain> conditions)
In order to elaborate cases, can you tell me whether there's a way to effectively know the active profile ?
(haven't found it in status bar options ; any log where I could find which profile has ultimately been activated according to rules ?)
Thanks.
K.

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2953
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Column profiles simply do not work anymore for me (build 832)

#7 Post by Marek » 26.11.2020, 20:14

Currently you can identify the currently used profile from the used columns.

kino
Posts: 77
Joined: 01.04.2013, 23:24

Re: Column profiles simply do not work anymore for me (build 832)

#8 Post by kino » 26.11.2020, 23:20

OK.
Maybe I should put a feature request on it (active profile status)
...on concurrent rules/conditions, infering from the final set of used columns preclude the very concept of a possible bug :-]
But I'll work on isolating a case from an empty conf.
Thanks for your time.
K.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests