597 - regression: favorite toolbar position not kept

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Message
Author
Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 597 - regression: favorite toolbar position not kept

#16 Post by Scott_Y » 20.08.2012, 15:11

That's very impressive, inglorious. Congratulations!

inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 31.08.2011, 22:10

Re: 597 - regression: favorite toolbar position not kept

#17 Post by inglorious » 20.08.2012, 16:20

Do you mean to say that adding more than 7 items to a toolbar is what causes the scramble?
yes, in my test case at least. I pmed Marek the test files I really hope this gets fixed.
in 2009 there is (maybe was) an similar bug where the item order was lost in a single toolbar if certain items number was exceeded.
@inglorious, I'd love to buy you a coffee, actually. Do you live close by?
not really, I was just kiddin... :)
Win7x64

inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 31.08.2011, 22:10

Re: 597 - regression: favorite toolbar position not kept

#18 Post by inglorious » 20.08.2012, 16:30

Scott_Y wrote:That's very impressive, inglorious. Congratulations!
thanks! unfortunately one thing is to report a bug another thing is to get a fix for it.
see my posts, I've reported many bugs incl. video & step by step instructions,
but I have the feeling that most of them didn't get fixed.
if you like participate on this poll
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4145
maybe Marek will devote more development time on bug fixing, stabilizing features & testing.
Win7x64

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2495
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 597 - regression: favorite toolbar position not kept

#19 Post by Marek » 20.08.2012, 21:08

I've reported many bugs incl. video & step by step instructions
Yes, you are really bugs hunter :). Thanks for your help!
My time resources are limited, so I am trying to fix all important bugs - if I can reproduce it.

Unfortunatelley your "bad_" and "ok_" environment works well for me. I have made all excatly as in your video.

Could you please, before you close the program, call Tools->Save settings?
If it does not work then after closing "Define favorite toolbars" dialog open - with right click on toolbar - "Define action toolbar" dialog.

inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 31.08.2011, 22:10

Re: 597 - regression: favorite toolbar position not kept

#20 Post by inglorious » 21.08.2012, 17:33

I've created a video: hunting the bug - directors cut, in HD! :) download the video here:
http://www2.zippyshare.com/v/75880153/file.html

as shown in the video, the issue is 100% reproducible using a fresh XE 598 download.

further while shooting the video I found more bugs in the toolbar implementation:

1. incorrect item sorting
when created its sorted by name &New item1, &New item2, &New item3 ... after restart the items are scrambled:
Image

2. actionbar is collapsed
Image
Win7x64

User avatar
BGM
Posts: 572
Joined: 14.10.2008, 21:42
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Re: 597 - regression: favorite toolbar position not kept

#21 Post by BGM » 17.09.2012, 19:32

Wow! You should change your name from "inglorious" to "killer"!
(Windows 7 Professional 64bit)

User avatar
BGM
Posts: 572
Joined: 14.10.2008, 21:42
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

600: Toolbar positions now kept!

#22 Post by BGM » 11.10.2012, 15:35

With version 600, I seem to be able to now edit my "favourites toolbars" without them losing their positions!

Also, amazingly enough, I can now also resize FCXE and when I maximize the window again, the toolbars go back to their correct positions!

Finally, I also notice that if I add an item to a dropdown menu on the favourites toolbar, the item is started at the end of that group instead of at the end of the list like it used to! Kudos to Marek!

Thank you for fixing this!
(Windows 7 Professional 64bit)

inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 31.08.2011, 22:10

Re: 597 - regression: favorite toolbar position not kept

#23 Post by inglorious » 28.11.2012, 22:30

BGM you're wrong! the most annoying bug ever is not dead!!
the bug is pretty simple to reproduce:
- create 3 fav. toolbars
- check: integrate fav. toolbars with action toolbars
- now spread the toolbars somewhere
- position is kept until you increase the item numbers in the toolbars to maybe 8!

bang!
it's 100 % reproducible (and even in a very, very easy way) in the latest version 603.
ffs, this bug is haunting me since v2009 :evil:


Last bumped by inglorious on 28.11.2012, 22:30.
Win7x64

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests