597 - seach window redesign

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 31.08.2011, 22:10

597 - seach window redesign

#1 Post by inglorious » 27.07.2012, 11:00

please redesign the search dialog window, why:
- bug 1: edit msconfig and start win in safe mode, now maximize the search window
(as seen in attached screen shot the window is not really fully maximized)
- bug 2: the search result is almost not visible due to the screen resolution in safe mode.
Image
I mark this as a bug, as search results are useless b*cause I almost cannot see them.
see SC for a good search window design ...
Win7x64

Karol
Posts: 753
Joined: 19.08.2007, 10:05

Re: 597 - seach window redesign

#2 Post by Karol » 27.07.2012, 12:22

You could use the option "Auto hide search parameters on search end".

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 597 - seach window redesign

#3 Post by Scott_Y » 27.07.2012, 16:02

@ inglorious: Thanks for bringing up this point. I've experienced the same problem in regular mode where the user typically has text enlarged to 125% of default. It messes up the display of dialogs in many programs!

@ Karol: Thanks for the tip -- it solves my problem when working in contexts such as that!

inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 31.08.2011, 22:10

Re: 597 - seach window redesign

#4 Post by inglorious » 31.08.2012, 23:53

You could use the option "Auto hide search parameters on search end".
this is rather a work-around than a solution as I cannot toggle views (with or without search parameters)
Win7x64

inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 31.08.2011, 22:10

Re: 597 - seach window redesign

#5 Post by inglorious » 02.09.2012, 11:35

please add a button to toggle "Auto hide search parameters on search end" visible/hidden.
Win7x64

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2737
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 597 - seach window redesign

#6 Post by Marek » 08.09.2012, 12:47

Simply click on the splitter.

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 597 - seach window redesign

#7 Post by Scott_Y » 08.09.2012, 15:06

Marek wrote:Simply click on the splitter.
Ah, that's a nice alternative. I've often tried to drag the splitter, but that's not possible.

inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 31.08.2011, 22:10

Re: 597 - seach window redesign

#8 Post by inglorious » 09.09.2012, 22:24

Scott_Y wrote:
Marek wrote:Simply click on the splitter.
Ah, that's a nice alternative. I've often tried to drag the splitter, but that's not possible.
sorry for asking, but where the heck is my splitter?
additionally I believe when the search window is empty buttons like cut, copy, delete... should be grayed out.
Image
Win7x64

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 597 - seach window redesign

#9 Post by Scott_Y » 10.09.2012, 05:09

inglorious wrote:... sorry for asking, but where the heck is my splitter?
What version are you using? In FC-XE 598, the horizontal boundary between the Search parameters panel above and the Results panel below is a splitter bar, approximately 5 pixels high -- similar to the vertical splitter bar between the panels in two-pane view. Your screenshot is different: it shows only a single line, not the wider splitter bar. When my cursor arrow hovers over the splitter, the bar becomes colored and the cursor turns to a thin upward arrow which can double-click to collapse the upper panel (but the bar is not dragable).

inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 31.08.2011, 22:10

Re: 597 - seach window redesign

#10 Post by inglorious » 19.09.2012, 22:25

LOL, I guess I found the bug, check the Option "Load network in background process on program start".
press CTRL+F and you may miss the min/max splitter bar even in a local folder. sweet! although I would prefer a redesign a la SC do you mind fixing this?
Win7x64

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 597 - seach window redesign

#11 Post by Scott_Y » 22.09.2012, 05:02

In FC-XE 600, hovering over the splitter bar has an Up arrow when showing both search parameters and results, and a double arrow when expanded to show only results. I suggest the latter be changed to a Down arrow for consistency; otherwise it looks like a drag arrow. Thanks for considering this, and great thanks Marek for your tireless work on FC.

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 597 - seach window redesign

#12 Post by Scott_Y » 22.09.2012, 12:14

inglorious wrote:LOL, I guess I found the bug, check the Option "Load network in background process on program start".
The splitter bar appears for me whether or not this setting is enabled (found in Settings > Network), so I wonder if something else is going on in your system. Win7-64.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests