Page 1 of 1

653 - extract zipfile

Posted: 11.02.2014, 20:04
by UFO
If I try to extract a zipfile right after the start of FC (context menue / extract all) only a very small window appears (may be in the background). After closing this windows tThe second try works normal.

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

Posted: 12.02.2014, 14:25
by joby_toss
Are you sure "Context menu/ Extract all" entry is from FC and not from an archives manager (7-zip, Winzip etc.)? I don't have this one.
I use 7-zip and can't replicate your issue.

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

Posted: 12.02.2014, 18:00
by Dreamer
It looks "Extract all" is from explorer, I have the explorer window when I use it, so probably it's not a bug.

FC 653 donor, Win Vista 32 bit.

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

Posted: 13.02.2014, 19:29
by UFO
You are right, sorry. The context menue after a right mouse button klick is of course from the windows explorer. But if I make this direct in the explorer everything is fine. Only the first time the context menue is open in FC I have this problem. May be the "FcContextMenu64.exe" has a problem? Tomorrow I will test that on another PC.

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

Posted: 14.02.2014, 13:22
by joby_toss
If you want to see if FcContextMenu64.exe is at fault, just edit the file FreeCommander.ini and change this line:

Code: Select all

ShowContextMenu64Bit=1
to

Code: Select all

ShowContextMenu64Bit=0
or simply hold the Win key while right clicking.

You could also use FC XE 64 bit version (I see you're a donor) on a 64 bit OS. This version doesn't need FcContextMenu64.exe to function properly.

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

Posted: 16.02.2014, 09:34
by UFO
I try your tip and: it works! I have the 32bit-Version on my 64bit-Win, but in my FreeCommander.ini there was no entry "ShowContextMenu64Bit". After I insert "ShowContextMenu64Bit=0" everything works fine. Thanks.
You could also use FC XE 64 bit version (I see you're a donor) on a 64 bit OS. This version doesn't need FcContextMenu64.exe to function properly.
But the FC XE 64 bit version is available "only" in a portable Version right?

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

Posted: 16.02.2014, 09:42
by joby_toss
UFO wrote:But the FC XE 64 bit version is available "only" in a portable Version right?
At the moment, yes.

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

Posted: 16.02.2014, 15:46
by horst.epp
UFO wrote:I try your tip and: it works! I have the 32bit-Version on my 64bit-Win, but in my FreeCommander.ini there was no entry "ShowContextMenu64Bit". After I insert "ShowContextMenu64Bit=0" everything works fine. Thanks.
You could also use FC XE 64 bit version (I see you're a donor) on a 64 bit OS. This version doesn't need FcContextMenu64.exe to function properly.
But the FC XE 64 bit version is available "only" in a portable Version right?
But the portable version works the same as an installed version.
There is nothing you need from the installer for normal usage.
And it has the benefit of having all settings and files in one place.

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

Posted: 21.02.2014, 07:22
by Scott_Y
joby_toss wrote:If you want to see if FcContextMenu64.exe is at fault, just edit the file FreeCommander.ini and change this line:
ShowContextMenu64Bit=1
to
ShowContextMenu64Bit=0
or simply hold the Win key while right clicking.
Thanks, Joby! This solves the same problem I reported in viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4647

And thanks, UFO, for describing the problem better than I did.