Page 1 of 1

FC fails to load network shares

Posted: 12.04.2018, 16:03
by BGM
I am having problems with UNC shares.
Since I am a network administrator, every day I have to connect to the admin shares of machines on my LAN.

But sometimes, FC will not connect even though I can connect with Windows Explorer.
However, *after* I connect with Windows Explorer, *then* FC can find the destination.
But before I make the connection with Explorer, it doesn't matter how many times I try with FC.

This is intermittent.

FreeCommander XE 2017 Build 763 64-bit donor on Windows 7x64

Settings > Network > Use FreeCommander for network loading = true
USe cache for server list = true
Show hidden shares = true
Load network in background process on program start = true

Re: FC fails to load network shares

Posted: 14.04.2018, 20:31
by Marek
1. Helps the FreeCommander restart?
2. Are these always the same servers that cause problems?
3. Have you tried other network setting (Use Windows shell...)?

Re: FC fails to load network shares

Posted: 15.04.2018, 15:38
by m-a-r-k
Do you run FC with admin privileges?
I do and had the same sort of problem.
This article helped:
http://www.winability.com/how-to-make-e ... rk-drives/

Re: FC fails to load network shares

Posted: 16.04.2018, 03:22
by BGM
Am I running as administrator?
No, I don't run "as" administrator - however, I am logged in as a domain super admin with admin rights anywhere in the network. It is on my own workstation.

1. Helps the FreeCommander restart?
Well, I guess it might. I'd have to put myself back into the mode to test it, though.

2. Are these always the same servers that cause problems?
No. It could be any network share or machine.

3. Have you tried other network setting (Use Windows shell...)?
I used to use Windows to copy files, but it doesn't have pause, and if the job fails, there's no way to know what files didn't copy and then I have to go do a compare files to find the difference. That is utter pain if I try to copy a lot of files. AND, Windows 7 doesn't tell the folder paths. In it's "details" it will tell the a filename, but not the folder that contains it, so if you copy a folder of folders with files, you can't tell what messed up. I hate that. So I use FC's copy function instead because it gives a better progress report.

Sorry to take so long to answer; the forum stops sending me notifications if I don't log in regularly.

Re: FC fails to load network shares

Posted: 16.04.2018, 03:26
by BGM
There is another issue - and it might be related, which is why I'm posting it in this thread:

So I am copying a 50mb mp4 file from one laptop to another laptop, using FC on the destination machine, and logged in via admin share (using local admin credentials for the connection to the source machine).

When I copy the file, (copy service is via Windows, not FC) FC will not navigate. I push the up-button to go to the parent directory and the hated spinner begins. It *does* finally navigate, but I have to wait for it.

Re: FC fails to load network shares

Posted: 16.04.2018, 18:19
by m-a-r-k
So you didn't try the registry change?
When you use FC, do you run as administrator? If not then forget it. If so, do the registry change.

Re: FC fails to load network shares

Posted: 17.04.2018, 04:02
by BGM
m-a-r-k, It works most of the time. It's just sometimes that it doesn't work. I'd say it works 92% of the time just like it is expected to work.
I've been doing this with FC for years. It's as if FC forgets about the network or something.

When it *doesn't* work, if I go and load the path in Windows Explorer, *then* FC is able to grab it up just fine.