[786] Error message using search function: "Can not found archiver plugin"

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Odamn-Ete
Posts: 41
Joined: 28.06.2017, 05:10

[786] Error message using search function: "Can not found archiver plugin"

#1 Post by Odamn-Ete » 04.11.2018, 06:25

Start "Search files/folders" window <crtl+f>
enter value in text field "File name:"

Search file content
enter value in text field "Containing text:"

Search in
enter path in text field "Folders:"
activate check box "Search in archives"
activate check box "Search in Office xml (docx, xlsx, odt)"

Click on "Find" button

activate tab "Search log"

following log text is displayed, "Can not found archiver plugin." as well the path to the files which actually do contain the
text searched for.

In "Filters" tab of "Search files/folders" window
"Archive file filters" is empty - all supported archives

In Settings tab /Archiver plugins
fcZip and fcRar plugins are both active

In "Converter" tab of "Search files/folders" window
"xdoc2txt.exe" is configured correctly.

Screenshots included below:
Image

Image

Image

FreeCommander XE 2018 Build 786 64-bit donor
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Version 1803 Build 17134.376

If I may, I would like to make a suggestion, the error message is using improper grammar.

either
Cannot find archiver plugin. -> Kann Archiv-Plugin nicht finden. (In case you would like to translate error message into German.)
or
Could not find archiver plugin. -> Konnte Archiv-Plugin nicht finden.
or
Archiver plugin not found. -> Archiv-Plugin nicht gefunden.

Best regards

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2486
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [786] Error message using search function: "Can not found archiver plugin"

#2 Post by Marek » 04.11.2018, 16:00

This message is not only gramatically incorrect.
The right full message should be:
Archiver plugin not found or the file can not be handle (e.g. password protection)

Odamn-Ete
Posts: 41
Joined: 28.06.2017, 05:10

Re: [786] Error message using search function: "Can not found archiver plugin"

#3 Post by Odamn-Ete » 05.11.2018, 10:20

Dear Marek,

thanks for your reply. Good to know, the error message also appears, when files cannot be handled due to password protection.

I tested again. Went into a different directory, where I knew that none of the files contained therein were password protected, checkbox "Search in archives" was deactivated upon opening of search window <strg+f>. -> Result: Search function worked like a charm, except that the tabs "Search result" and "Search log" are no longer showing. Deactivated checkbox "Search in archives" and closed search window.

Navigated up one to the original directory, where my search gave the results as reported above. Checkbox "Search in archives" was deactivated upon opening of search window <strg+f>. -> Result: Search function worked like a charm, except that the tabs "Search result" and "Search log" are no longer showing. Closed search window.

Navigated up one, upon opening the search window <strg+f> the yellow warning triangle next to the checkbox "Search in archives" appeared immediately. I had not yet entered a file type nor text string to search for. (Checkbox "Search in archives" was already activated from previous search.)

Image

I entered file type and text string and started the search. This resulted in files being found but, as was previously the case, the tabs "Search result" and "Search log" are no longer showing.

Image

I have tested several times, if the checkbox "Search in archives" is not previously activated, the yellow triangle doesn't appear. Also, if the checkbox is deactivated the yellow triangle disappears and doesn't re-appear when re-activated before starting a search.

After closing and restarting FC the behavior described above remains.

FreeCommander XE 2018 Build 786 64-bit donor
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Version 1803 Build 17134.376

Thanks again for your time.

Best regards

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests