Need to press F2 twice in folder pane

Bugs and other issues or requests which have been resolved.
Post Reply
Message
Author
HanVroon
Posts: 5
Joined: 04.10.2014, 13:32

Need to press F2 twice in folder pane

#1 Post by HanVroon » 18.02.2020, 08:53

Hello Marek,

I switched from version 745 to 808 recently and found that when wanting to rename a folder in the folder pane pressing F2, nothing happenend.
F2 needed to be pressed twice to rename a folder. Also capitals could not be used.

Now I downloaded version 813 and started testing.
Still F2 needs to be pressed twice to rename a folder in the folder pane.
Capitals can be used again.

I could not find this press-F2-twice issue in the forum, neighter can I find a setting that works different compared to older versions.
I hope that this is not a new feature...

Regards,
Han

User avatar
Hugo_W
Posts: 16
Joined: 02.11.2019, 19:14

Re: Need to press F2 twice in folder pane

#2 Post by Hugo_W » 18.02.2020, 12:47

Hello han
with 810 Donor, renaming folders works fine.
Try changing the settings in File / Folder Operations.
General -> allo Options -> set to FC
Rename / Create -> use Windows Dialog ..... is set
Greetings Hugo

HanVroon
Posts: 5
Joined: 04.10.2014, 13:32

Re: Need to press F2 twice in folder pane

#3 Post by HanVroon » 18.02.2020, 16:49

Hi Hugo,

File/Folder operations is for the detail pane. Settings are as you write.
My post is about the FOLDERS pane, so the left side.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3837
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Need to press F2 twice in folder pane

#4 Post by Dreamer » 18.02.2020, 19:21

Confirmed, in 813.

To reproduce enable tree, click the folder in tree, press F2, nothing happens, press F2 again, it works.

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2739
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Need to press F2 twice in folder pane

#5 Post by Marek » 20.02.2020, 21:16

It works always fine for me.
Have you checked default settings too?

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3837
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Need to press F2 twice in folder pane

#6 Post by Dreamer » 20.02.2020, 21:55

It works good with default settings. I tried to change the settings for selection and tree, but couldn't find the option causing this problem.

Anyway, Marek, you can use my .ini file I sent you for another problem, I can reproduce it with that file.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3837
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Need to press F2 twice in folder pane

#7 Post by Dreamer » 20.02.2020, 22:03

OK, got it, use default settings and these settings: File/folder operations > Rename/Create"

[ ] Allow rename on slow double click
[ ] Use dialog window for rename
[v] Select only file name

I can always reproduce it this way, just click any item in tree first time and press F2.

HanVroon
Posts: 5
Joined: 04.10.2014, 13:32

Re: Need to press F2 twice in folder pane

#8 Post by HanVroon » 21.02.2020, 16:49

Hi,

When checking "Allow rename on slow double click", the problem is over.
I saw in the release notes of version 807 that a bug was fixed regarding that setting, perhaps it's related.

Regards,
Han

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3837
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Need to press F2 twice in folder pane

#9 Post by Dreamer » 06.03.2020, 22:37

Fixed in 814, thanks, Marek.

Closed.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests