Double Clicking Main Splitter does Not Size Panes Equally

Bugs and other issues or requests which have been resolved.
Post Reply
Message
Author
skidplate
Posts: 12
Joined: 06.02.2010, 19:49

Double Clicking Main Splitter does Not Size Panes Equally

#1 Post by skidplate » 23.08.2012, 20:35

In FC-XE 0.0.0.598:

Double Clicking on the Main Splitter, above or below the Pane Closer area (or whatever they are called), does not cause dual panes to size evenly (as in v2009.02b). However, Double Clicking on the Splitter Toolbar does this, but when it is turned off, the Main Splitter does not inherit the behavior.

I'm aware this can be done with Shift-Ctrl-F2, or Right-Click on the Splitter and select from context menu, but I miss the double-click of v2009.02b.

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Double Clicking Main Splitter does Not Size Panes Equall

#2 Post by Scott_Y » 24.08.2012, 14:41

Confirmed (FC.598, Win7-64).

Apparently the double-click resizing function works only on the toolbar.
The splitter bar does not respond to double-click, whether or not the toolbar is visible.
Request: Enable this on the splitter bar as well.

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2737
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Double Clicking Main Splitter does Not Size Panes Equall

#3 Post by Marek » 24.08.2012, 19:15

Implemented for the release 599.

skidplate
Posts: 12
Joined: 06.02.2010, 19:49

Re: Double Clicking Main Splitter does Not Size Panes Equall

#4 Post by skidplate » 24.08.2012, 20:26

Marek wrote:Implemented for the release 599.
Thank you very much! :D

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3831
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Double Clicking Main Splitter does Not Size Panes Equall

#5 Post by Dreamer » 12.09.2012, 22:58

Works perfect, almost. :wink:

If the main FC window is small, double click the splitter (on the left), left panel is bigger than right, it's the old bug already fixed for the splitter button area - double click there to see the difference.

skidplate
Posts: 12
Joined: 06.02.2010, 19:49

Re: Double Clicking Main Splitter does Not Size Panes Equall

#6 Post by skidplate » 13.09.2012, 04:19

Marek wrote:Implemented for the release 599.
FC XE 0.0.0.599

Thanks for the splitter double-click in 599! :D While playing with that, I found two issues with the equal division of the Panels:

Issue 1:
After certain events, FC switches to a single Panel when “restoring down” to a smaller size after being full screen.

1. Start with FC smaller than full screen.

2. Maximize FC using the maximize button or double clicking the title bar.

3. Click either Panel Closer on the Splitter to switch to a single Panel.

4. Double click on the Splitter to equally divide the Panels.

5. Restore the window down to its original size using the restore down button.

FC switches to single Panel mode. Note, this happens most of the time, but occasionally it works correctly, probably something to do with the exact sequence of events.



Issue 2:

FC does not equally size dual Panels after certain events. I’m not sure if this is the related to what Dreamer reported.

1. Start with FC about 1/2 full screen.

2. Click either Panel Closer on the Splitter to switch to a single Panel.

3. Drag the window much larger.

4. Click the Panel Closer to switch back to dual Panels.

The Panels are not equally sized. The newly opened Panel size seems to be based upon the window size when the Panel initially closed.

inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 31.08.2011, 22:10

Re: Double Clicking Main Splitter does Not Size Panes Equall

#7 Post by inglorious » 17.09.2012, 19:03

sorry skidplate I did not follow exactly what your wrote, but there is a issue here (maybe mentioned already by you).
double click should always split panels 50% no matter where clicked:
Image
Win7x64

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Double Clicking Main Splitter does Not Size Panes Equall

#8 Post by Scott_Y » 21.09.2012, 15:31

inglorious wrote: double click should always split panels 50% no matter where clicked
This works correctly for me in release 600, whether I double-click on the splitter bar or the toolbar (Win7-64).

inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 31.08.2011, 22:10

Re: Double Clicking Main Splitter does Not Size Panes Equall

#9 Post by inglorious » 21.09.2012, 15:43

yeah, looks like fixed in 600.
Win7x64

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Double Clicking Main Splitter does Not Size Panes Equall

#10 Post by Scott_Y » 21.09.2012, 15:52

inglorious wrote:yeah, looks like fixed in 600.
:D Thanks, Marek!

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3831
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Double Clicking Main Splitter does Not Size Panes Equall

#11 Post by Dreamer » 21.09.2012, 23:48

Confirmed here too. Thanks, Marek.

Topic closed.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests