feedback: fc 601 works fine on w7-64 bit and w8-32 bit

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
vsrawat
Posts: 163
Joined: 05.11.2009, 20:09

feedback: fc 601 works fine on w7-64 bit and w8-32 bit

#1 Post by vsrawat » 27.11.2012, 16:24

I installed "Windows 8 Enterprise Final Retail 32bit" 2 days ago. Downloaded and installed fc 601. Even used the settings files and fcstart.ini file of w7 Ultimate - 64 bit that itself were copied from w7 Ultimate - 32 bit.

And it worked well, perfectly seamlessly. No issues at all.

So, I thought I should leave a formal feedback in these forum, just in case someone comes to figure out how well and whether it works on these.

"fc 601 works fine on w7-64 bit and w8-32 bit".

Thanks.
--
Rawat

vsrawat
Posts: 163
Joined: 05.11.2009, 20:09

Re: feedback: fc 601 works fine on w7-64 bit and w8-32 bit

#2 Post by vsrawat » 27.11.2012, 16:29

Some false alarm issues that came:

- while copying file in new setup, the name of file was becoming "letter - Copy.txt" from the original file named "letter.txt".

I was surprised because my previous setups were naming the copied files as "letter_2.txt", "letter_3.txt"etc. ( "_2" instead of "- Copy" suffixed").

Searching on net told me that is the change done by teracopy. Windows default is adding "- Copy" to the name. I have not yet installed teracopy so it is naming in the windows explorer method.

I mean, that is not the issue with fc. That was a windows explorer - teracopy issue.

--
Rawat

sdb
Posts: 139
Joined: 02.10.2011, 07:11

Re: feedback: fc 601 works fine on w7-64 bit and w8-32 bit

#3 Post by sdb » 28.11.2012, 01:17

its nice to hear that fc works on Windows 8. But I stick around with Windows 7. I don't see a benefit in changing the os and of touch abilities for my notebook. My nexus 7 runs with android.

Can somebody actually upgrade to Win 8 from Win 7 without having any problems with programs, configurations, data etc. ?

vsrawat
Posts: 163
Joined: 05.11.2009, 20:09

Re: feedback: fc 601 works fine on w7-64 bit and w8-32 bit

#4 Post by vsrawat » 28.11.2012, 05:15

I have not upgraded from w7, but rather made a fresh install of w8 in a separate partition. Now my pc is dual boot w7-w8.

That doesn't answer your question, but my suggestion is - DO NOT upgrade, rather do a fresh install like me. If you upgrade and find that some software or device is not working in w8 due to driver or some problem, then you are stuck because you have already lost previous working setup of w7. So, do a fresh install of w8 on a separate partition, make the pc dual boot, use w8, install all your things there, if it works ok, then you can delete w7 installation and fully switch to w8. If w8 doesn't work, you can switch back to using w7 without any loss.

Thanks.
--
Rawat

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests