FreeCommander window not focused and double-clicking on file

Bugs and issues.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Free4all
Posts: 246
Joined: 30.09.2014, 19:12

FreeCommander window not focused and double-clicking on file

#1 Post by Free4all » 11.09.2016, 22:28

FreeCommander Build 716 32-bit

When FreeCommander is not the focused window, quickly double-clicking on an file in it does not load the file; instead it renames it.

I have noticed that my workflow is often interrupted by this issue, especially when compared to Windows Explorer (which works as expected). It would be great to have this fixed, and work like Windows Explorer (Windows 7).

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2572
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: FreeCommander window not focused and double-clicking on

#2 Post by Marek » 16.09.2016, 18:23

I can not reproduce it.

Free4all
Posts: 246
Joined: 30.09.2014, 19:12

Re: FreeCommander window not focused and double-clicking on

#3 Post by Free4all » 17.09.2016, 01:34

Marek wrote:I can not reproduce it.
Hmmm... that's unfortunate, because it's going to require a video to show what's happening.

Before I do that, did you try reproducing it with the version I use?

@Dreamer and others: Would you mind giving this a try to see if you can reproduce or describe the issue using different words?

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: FreeCommander window not focused and double-clicking on

#4 Post by joby_toss » 17.09.2016, 04:26

I cannot reproduce it on win 10 (maybe because of this feature).

Try disabling the option "Allow rename on slow double click".
Or try playing with your double click speed in "Mouse properties" settings.

Free4all
Posts: 246
Joined: 30.09.2014, 19:12

Re: FreeCommander window not focused and double-clicking on

#5 Post by Free4all » 17.09.2016, 09:43

joby_toss wrote:I cannot reproduce it on win 10 (maybe because of this feature).

Try disabling the option "Allow rename on slow double click".
Or try playing with your double click speed in "Mouse properties" settings.
Thanks. Disabling "Allow rename on slow double click" will definitely "fix" the issue because the rename dialog box will no longer appear on slow double click. But that feature is rather essential.

I tried playing around with the double click speed, but it didn't fix the issue.

I appreciate the good ideas though!

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3544
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: FreeCommander window not focused and double-clicking on

#6 Post by Dreamer » 17.09.2016, 11:46

I can't repoduce it either (728, Win10 x64). Please try to use default settings, then change few settings to find which is causing this issue...

• Try to reproduce a bug with default settings and without plugins. To do this use these command line parameters (your old settings file will be preserved):

/N /NewIni=FreeCommanderTest.ini /NoPlugins /Lng=English

Free4all
Posts: 246
Joined: 30.09.2014, 19:12

Re: FreeCommander window not focused and double-clicking on

#7 Post by Free4all » 26.09.2016, 02:19

Marek wrote:I can not reproduce it.
I finally had sufficient time to create a screencast to demonstrate the issue.

It is available here: http://imgur.com/a/IsEVb

Hopefully my efforts will help you!

Timon
Posts: 688
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: FreeCommander window not focused and double-clicking on

#8 Post by Timon » 26.09.2016, 05:50

Tools - Settings - File/folder operations - Rename/Create tab - switch OFF 'Allow rename on slow double click'.

Free4all
Posts: 246
Joined: 30.09.2014, 19:12

Re: FreeCommander window not focused and double-clicking on

#9 Post by Free4all » 26.09.2016, 08:25

Timon wrote:Tools - Settings - File/folder operations - Rename/Create tab - switch OFF 'Allow rename on slow double click'.
Thanks. Unfortunately, toggling that option has no effect on this issue. The issue is present with that option enabled or disabled.

Timon
Posts: 688
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: FreeCommander window not focused and double-clicking on

#10 Post by Timon » 26.09.2016, 12:17

Thanks. Unfortunately, toggling that option has no effect on this issue. The issue is present with that option enabled or disabled.
Even after watching video I can't reproduce your problem on my PC in FC XE 728 no matter how and what I tried.

Free4all
Posts: 246
Joined: 30.09.2014, 19:12

Re: FreeCommander window not focused and double-clicking on

#11 Post by Free4all » 27.09.2016, 07:46

Timon wrote:
Thanks. Unfortunately, toggling that option has no effect on this issue. The issue is present with that option enabled or disabled.
Even after watching video I can't reproduce your problem on my PC in FC XE 728 no matter how and what I tried.
Would you mind giving FreeCommander XE Build 716 32-bit a try on Windows 7 SP1 64-bit and report back? Make sure you are using the default pointing device drivers in case that makes any difference.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests