view passive, dynamic / "Live" search

Discussion, questions and support.
RiffRaff

view passive, dynamic / "Live" search

#1 Post by RiffRaff » 25.02.2023, 22:48

Hi. I'm new to FC and would first like to thank Marek, the Admins, and everyone else who helped make this happen. The app is more useful than I'd imagined, and I intend to purchase a 64 bit license.

FC's feature-set is so rich, it's tweaked my imagination, and I'm now wondering it's possible to define a Search, and display results in a tab or panel, yet keep the search "live" so it updates as files returned per the Search's criteria are modified.
I know I can define a Search and save it as a Profile, and/or display output as links in a Container tab, but those links immediately becomes "stale", and aren't updated when underlying files / folders are modified. In other words, I want a visible "live" Search that's automatically updated on-the-fly.

Example:
1. Define a Search for all txt files in C:\Folder1\SubFolder\ recursively,
2. Save Search output to a panel, Container tab, or {?},
3. Add C:\Folder1\SubFolder\NewFile.txt. Add C:\Folder1\SubFolder\SubFolder2\NewFile2.txt. Delete C:\Folder1\SubFolder\OldFile.txt.
4. View output created in step 2 above, and see that it now (automatically) reflects file changes in step 3 without having to rerun the Search and repeat step 2.

If this isn't easily doable, might this sequence be accomplished with some type of "macro" or scripting? Any suggestions will be appreciated.
Thank you.

Dreamer
Site Admin

Re: view passive, dynamic / "Live" search

#2 Post by Dreamer » 26.02.2023, 13:27

File container can't be used, because it contains just the specific files, it's just a list with the file paths and names.

Quick filter could be used:
- set this option in Settings > Quick search/filter/starter > Quick search/Quick filter > Quick filter: "[v] Keep filter on tab change"
- go to C:\Folder1\SubFolder\
- press Ctrl+B to enable plain view