Standardized Copy-File Confirmation Box

Suggestions and feature requests.
Locked
Message
Author
Tech
Posts: 9
Joined: 29.12.2007, 01:42

Standardized Copy-File Confirmation Box

#1 Post by Tech » 29.12.2007, 01:52

When I try to copy over a pre-existing file, the standard Windows confirmation box comes up rather than a FreeCommander box. In XP, this isn't too big a deal, as the default box does about what I'd want. But in Vista it's a PITA because the default box is huge and has the wrong default, and requires several keystrokes to select "Copy".

What I would like is the option of using a FreeCommander confirmation box instead (both for copying/moving to disk and to zip) and the ability to set the default. The only other Windows file manager I have recent experience with, Directory Opus, does have it's own confirmation boxes which do what I'm wanting.

User avatar
enkryptor
Posts: 24
Joined: 21.12.2007, 12:20

#2 Post by enkryptor » 30.12.2007, 11:33

FC uses built-in Windows copy routine, same as Windows Explorer :(

I think it's a simple but bad solution, 'cause threre is no advantages over Explorer in move/copy functions

Also, for the reasons given above it's unable to make an ftp client from FC yet.

Tech
Posts: 9
Joined: 29.12.2007, 01:42

#3 Post by Tech » 30.12.2007, 15:34

Precisely!

In theory I could have gotten past this by using a different copy mechanism with the FileCopyPrg= ini entry, but it's both undocumented (other than in a message from Marek) and non-functional.

Tech
Posts: 9
Joined: 29.12.2007, 01:42

#4 Post by Tech » 01.01.2008, 21:50

It's taken a bit of work, but I'm closer to a resolution. Using Killcopy set up as follows:
FileMovePrg=killcopy.exe |%ActivSelAsFile%|%InactivDir%| -g-m
FileCopyPrg=killcopy.exe |%ActivSelAsFile%|%InactivDir%| -g

And also acting as the drag-and-drop handler, I now can get the Killcopy confirmation consistently rather than the windows one, and can limit it to the cases I care about. It's an improvement, but unfortunately it's still a dollar short... the default is "abort". So both <enter> and <escape> result in aborting. I want <enter> to be copy and <escape> to be abort. Maybe I'll have to write my own.

User avatar
enkryptor
Posts: 24
Joined: 21.12.2007, 12:20

#5 Post by enkryptor » 03.01.2008, 19:16

Thank you, this is interesting!

User avatar
enkryptor
Posts: 24
Joined: 21.12.2007, 12:20

#6 Post by enkryptor » 03.01.2008, 21:46

the same subj.:
viewtopic.php?t=39

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests